Are Boss pedals "old hat"?

What's Hot
RoysterdoysterRoysterdoyster Frets: 617

When I started playing 30 odd yrs ago,Boss were "thee" pedals to have. Having got back into effects recently after a long long absence I see pedal boards overflowing with virtually everything (most of which Id never heard of) except Boss. So are they considered a bit naff now? I have a few and I like them enough,as I dont really know any better,but Im curious. Plus they seem cheap compared to many. Am I missing out on a world of sounds that Boss wont give me?

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• joeyowenjoeyowen Frets: 4025
    There are so many more options than there was 30 years ago, so it looks a lot more diluted

Many pros still rely on Boss pedals (and others for sure).  The TU2/3 can be seen all the time.

• robinbowesrobinbowes Frets: 3042
    Some people have nothing better to do than build huge, expensive boards containing all the latest "flavour of the month" pedals. If that's what you want to do, then fine. Otherwise, Boss make great, functional pedals. I'd be happy with a totally Boss pedalboard. That's not to say that there aren't better pedals out there, but I wouldn't say you're missing out.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 12reaction image Wisdom
  • english_bobenglish_bob Frets: 5142
    joeyowen said:
    There are so many more options than there was 30 years ago

This, mostly. I think there's a perception that BOSS pedals are a bit "ordinary" compared to some of the weird and wonderful stuff out there. They're still very much the industry standard when it comes to making reliable, good sounding, sensibly priced stuff.

Don't talk politics and don't throw stones. Your royal highnesses.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 4reaction image Wisdom
  • LebarqueLebarque Frets: 3842
    The Waza ones are particularly good
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom