Getting that Billy Gibbons sound

What's Hot
Simon_MSimon_M Frets: 542
Been learning a few ZZ Top songs and I can’t nail down the sound. Obviously a lot of Billy’s sound comes from his proficient blues style which I’m working on but wondering what I can do to get his tone (or at least get close).

Short of buying a Les Paul (don’t give mean excuse!) what would be your approach? I mostly play a Strat so the lack of humbuckers might be an issue. 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• DanielsguitarsDanielsguitars Frets: 3301
    tFB Trader
    You definitely need a humbucker for alot of his stuff imo,  there's quite alot of single coil solo stuff in his work, i think he uses his melody maker for that tone

I'm no expert but love his early stuff, brown sugar is one of the best les paul tones to me

I don't use pedals so can't recommend anything 

www.danielsguitars.co.uk
    (formerly customkits)
  • tone1tone1 Frets: 5187
    edited June 2018
    I’ve been playing Brown Sugar, Francene, Blue Jean  Blues today.... I used a Navigator Les Paul with p90’s, Tweed deluxe clone and a Palmer distortion for Drive and it was heavenly 

edit... JHS kilt is based on the Expandora that the Reverend Billy used
  • FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14575
    edited June 2018
    Racks and racks of graphic EQ. 

Jump to 8:00.

You say, atom bomb. I say, tin of corned beef.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • WolfetoneWolfetone Frets: 1479
    Billy Gibbons plays quite a range of guitars and most of his pinched harmonic sound is down to him. Take a look at his rig rundown. It's diverse. 
  • octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33847
    He has a lot of variation in his tones and it isn't really down to the gear, but if you took a Les Paul into a Marshall without overdoing the gain or bottom end then you'd get in the ballpark enough to get by.
    He has used the Bixonic Expandora pedal a lot.