Pedals and the TFB Jams

What's Hot

Comments

• As benevolent Jam dictator, here's my 2p's worth..

Getting turnarounds right on the day is hard. Very hard. We try to get as many songs in as we can to please as many as possible. I've cut that number recently as it's often a squeeze. I don't want people going home having not had a chance to plug in and play their song.

@TTony is right - it's not a gear focus. It's a playing focus. 

Often, at festivals when playing there we get 10 mins or so to set up and go - or our setlist gets chopped. So sometimes you opt to use the backline that's there, or sneak a board in or whatever. At the end of the day, playing live is about reacting to a situation - venue, room, dynamics, crowd, equipment, PA, soundman etc. etc. and at the Jams we are giving you a flavour of all these things to help make you better at playing live - beginners and experienced alike. I play live a lot, but I'm not an expert by any stretch of the imagination.

However, having said that....

Everyones ambition, drive, motivation and playing style differs. And for many, their kit choice is an important part of that - there are occasions live where you get hours to set up, and lots of time to tweak to get it just right. I know people coming to the jams want to sound as good as they can - @darthed1981 clearly wants to build a small board to have something he can drop in and feel familiar with quickly. All power to you for that, Ed. 

And here's the thing - at huddersfield we have managed to get the logistics right to allow changes during songs - maybe a board, sometimes an amp head etc. If we can do this at other jams, I'd be really happy - but not at the expense of people getting their chance to play. 

My view would be:

- Cabs are as they are - it's too hard to swap them in and out
    - Bringing a head is ok, as is a board, or a multiFX.. BUT (and it's a big BUT)

I have to balance flexibility of kit against the running order. So, here's my advice..