Allen key sizes for American Standard Strat?

What's Hot
My '89 US Strat is really hard going lately due to arthritis in my hands.

I thought that a change to 9's from 10's may help although I have never used 9's before.

I guess there will be less pull on the neck so some adjustment of the truss rod would be necessary along with the bridge.

My questions are:

What are the sizes of allen keys needed for the truss rod and bridge sections?

Will 9's be OK with the nut as is?

Thanks. 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72330
    9s will be fine in the nut. If you're lucky, you might not have to adjust the other things either. If you do...

Bridge saddles - .050". This is very small, and can be hard to find. If you're very careful you can make the more common 1.5mm or 1/16" smaller by grinding it on a sheet of sandpaper, but you need to be careful to keep it accurate.

Truss rod and neck tilt - 1/8". DO NOT use a 3mm, which is the nearest metric equivalent - it seems to fit at first, but it's very slightly too small and will slip, sometimes rounding the inside of the nut and meaning it has to be replaced which is a serious job on a USA Standard, involving removing the walnut plug, replacing and touching up the finish.

This is a fairly common issue - in my opinion a bad choice of part size since 3mm keys are very common for other guitar uses, eg locking tremolos, so a lot of people have them to hand.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • streethawkstreethawk Frets: 1631
    Get a set of imperial allen/hex keys.