Any roofers in the house?

What's Hot
Ok poor joke, but let's cut to the chase. As some of you may have seen I'm turning a garage into the back of my house into a music teaching room. Have had a few people over to come and have a look and the first thing that needs to be addressed is the roof. We've just had a quote from one roofer who wants just under £4k to do a fibreglass roof with fascias and guttering.

I didn't ask a the time about insulation, there's 2 ways, one via the roof and other via the ceiling. He said to do it via the roof he'd need to double deck it first adding another £1k odd. The ceiling method is a little more complicated apparently but seeing as I have no knowledge of this I'm not sure what way we should do it. Its obviously going to get very cold in the winter months and alot of the heat loss will be via the roof/ceiling.

Which way is better/cheaper?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• DominicDominic Frets: 16095
    The going trade rate for a GRP fibreglass roof on prepared surface is £50 per sq m
     ideal surface prep is Sterling board -this gives the best bond to GRP resin -better than ply
    a standard double garage is 16 x 8 foot which equates to about 13 sq meters  ie £700 max in fibreglass
    You need to allow for labour and materials to form kerbing or for preformed GRP dressing flashings approx £350
     Is he removing and disposing of an existing surface ? if so add the cost of that
    The best way to insulate in this case will be a polycyanurate foam board of 80mm min set with a vapour barrier beneath the sterling board OR you could buy perldeck which will do the whole job in one go.
    Either way the insulation will cost approx £420 and the sterling board approx£140 with £200 labour to fit
    PVC gutter, clips and downpipes together with 15 linear meters of upvc fascia board will cost £225 with a further £200 labour