OK, Dumb question of the week. What's the real difference between these two PRS?

What's Hot
Paul7926Paul7926 Frets: 227
Hi all

I'm sorry to be a complete noob (again) but I've been looking at guitars again!

I started looking at one of these:

https://www.dawsons.co.uk/prs-2018-se-standard-24-electric-guitar-tobacco-sunburst

Now I know this is stupid but I really hate the look of the pickup selector on this. 

Then I noticed this:

https://www.dawsons.co.uk/prs-2018-se-245-standard-electric-guitar-tobacco-sunburst

Which has a much more pleasing aesthetic to me.  Ok so there are couple of frets less (24 v 245) which probably means nothing to a person of my (in)ability but then I noticed they have different pickups.

The '24' has Neck: PRS 85/15 “S”  Bridge: PRS 85/15 “S”
The '245' has 
Neck: PRS SE 245 Treble Humbucker Bridge: PRS SE 245 Bass Humbucker

I have found a local shop that has a '24' so I can go and embarrass myself by trying it out but they don't have the '245' so I can't do a comparison.

Does anyone have any experience of either (both would be better but that's probably a big ask)?  Are one set of pups regarded better than the other or given the fact they live in identically priced guitars is there not much difference?

Am I overthinking this way too much?   :)

Thanks

(Oh and in my world the lack of a tremolo on the 245 is more a plus than a negative!)

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Apart from the obvious trem/no trem and single/double cutaway, the main difference you'll actually notice is the scale length, i.e. the distance between nut and bridge.  The 245 has a 24.5" scale, while most PRSes have 25.0". This makes the 245's strings feel a bit looser at the same pitch. 

The pickups will be different but probably not very different (PRS fans will correct me if I'm wrong?!)

The Assumptions - UAE party band for all your rock & soul desires