Thoughts on having more than one of the same guitar?

What's Hot
Calum13Calum13 Frets: 37
edited November 2018 in Guitar
I've been thinking of purchasing a used Squier jaguar in white and putting a white pickguard on it, but I already have one in the sunburst colour. I started playing a couple of years back and that sunburst squier vm jag was my first guitar, so I don't know if I should sell it because it might have sentimental value later on, although I've been playing my epiphone sheraton more lately. After I saw Johnny Marr at the Glasgow barrowlands on Thursday I've been thinking of another jag after seeing his collection!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• grungebobgrungebob Frets: 3340
    edited November 2018
    Never sell your first guitar. 

If of course that’s just my opinion but 26 years later and I still like playing my first. 

Ive two of the same guitars also, ones a hardtail with a single bridge humbucker and the other has a working trem and 3 single coils. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • grungebob said:
    Never sell your first guitar. 

If of course that’s just my opinion but 26 years later and I still like playing my first. 

Ive two of the same guitars also, ones a hardtail with a single bridge humbucker and the other has a working trem and 3 single coils. 
    Yeah I could always put a humbucker in the bridge of the sunburst one and keep the white one with single coils. It would be good having more than one guitar with single coils though as the sunburst is mainly my sonic youth guitar just now and doesn't see much use and I don't like the coil split on the sheraton, but humbuckers would be better for sonic youth.
  • sw67sw67 Frets: 231
    I like change so prefer different guitars. Even playing gigs i tend to use whatever i am playing at the time most with another as a spare - For now its a telecaster with Gibson midtown as back up