Glasses

What's Hot
Well I am far sighted so I need glasses for real up close work, i.e. reading a book/kindle/phone.
I don't need them for everyday distance viewing.
However my glasses don't work when looking at a monitor which is about 50cm from my face, but I feel I need them (even though it's a 32inch monitor (4K).
So is it bi-focal time, or two different sets of glasses?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• John_PJohn_P Frets: 2750
    I got some varifocals last time and it’s so much better - a few days getting used to moving your head or eyes depe if it’s a different distance or place i want to see if that makes sense but then they are great.  

• NiteflyNitefly Frets: 4924
    I've been wearing varifocals for the last 10 or 12 years, much better than faffing about taking "reading glasses" off and putting "distance glasses" on.

I just got a new pair - £45 from Asda Opticians, including coatings. 

• markvmarkv Frets: 460
    edited December 2018
    It depends on what you need the glasses for.

I now have 2 pairs of glasses: 1 pair for general use, which are varifocals, and another pair specifically for computer use & reading. This second pair are apparently called "occupational glasses" and are effectively bifocals, although without the line in the middle.

The reason I have 2 pairs is that although the varifocals can work for reading or computer use, they're only correct in a very narrow range of the lens. Since I spend pretty much my entire day using a computer for work, the second pair is much more usable for this, because they give the correct focus for about an arm's length away and slightly closer, across a much wider range of the lens.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • JAYJOJAYJO Frets: 1527