Rehousing a Katana 50

What's Hot
LardyLardy Frets: 9

Love my Katana 50. Its perfect for what I need at home. Only 1 issue, my missus thinks it looks too much like (and I quote her) "that jacket the singer in Judas Priest wears". I think what she's getting at is its a black box which doesn't fit with her décor choices...

Id love to be able to rehouse it into the amazing looking blue grey tweed cabs that rift do but don't seem to be able to find anyone who stocks it.

Any help or experience appreciated.

Cheers

LB 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Comments

• LardyLardy Frets: 9

Also. Before its offered.

I do actually quite like her so getting rid is not an option (yet).

4reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Facebook Share on Twitter
  • revsorgrevsorg Frets: 497
    I have no practical experience of this, but looking round the back of the Katana 50 I wonder if one option would be to just rehouse the head - the amount of woodwork and construction would be considerably simpler.

Then buy a 1x12 cab finished to match your new living-room-friendly head. Hide the original cabinet in the loft in case you want to reverse everything at some point and sell the Katana.

https://i.imgur.com/KpUECs0.jpg
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom · Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

hmm. seems a good idea.

would prefer a combo though.

cheers for the reply

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Facebook Share on Twitter
  • strip the tolex.. there's some examples of such having been done on the Katana Facebook group..
    My trading feedback

is it crazy how saying sentences backwards creates backwards sentences saying how crazy it is?

Not on Facebook. but feel able to certainly strip it. Not sure about tweeding it though. Could give it a red hot go though.

• KebabkidKebabkid Frets: 1570