Recommendations for budget studio monitors please.

As title, I'm looking for some half decent monitors for a new set up, they will be used with a Tascam DP-03SD and Alesis SR18 if that makes a difference. Budget wise I'm looking at £100-150. Thank you.
Tomorrow will be a good day.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• I've got the Mackie CR4's which retail around £104 I think. I'm not a producer just a tutor but they're fine for general playback.
  • I think you can find Yamaha hs50ms in that burdget
  • MusicwolfMusicwolf Frets: 3654
    Do you actually need monitors?  When you start recording and mixing you will quickly discover that your mixes don't sound right when played back on another system.  This is because your monitoring system isn't neutral.

Your monitoring system is your monitors, your lug 'oles and, most critically, your room.  If the room isn't a good size, sympathetic ratio of dimensions and treated surfaces (and treated doesn't mean carpet stuck to the wall, thin foam tiles or egg boxes) then you are on a hiding to nothing.  A small, untreated room, where the length, width and height are of similar dimensions (i.e. a cube) is absolutely the worst possible environment for critical listening.  Unfortunately this describes a spare bedroom, which is where most of us operate from.