Guitar amp vs Bass amp

What's Hot
RussGRussG Frets: 15
Hi all. I'm really new to all this so i have a load of questions. I am currently learning to pay guitar, but also want to play bass. I have this amp at the moment:

https://i44.photobucket.com/albums/f28/snipershot7990/amp_zpspzdiirkm.jpg

Full  spec can be seen here:

https://www.gear4music.com/us/en/Guitar-and-Bass/DISC-White-Horse-GT260-120W-DSP-Guitar-Amp-Stack/8J3

I have read that running a bass through a guitar amp can blow the speakers. Now this amp is quite loud and while practising at home I have the volume very low. As long as I dont go too mad, woud I be able to play bass through this without destroying it?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• JezWyndJezWynd Frets: 6059
    Yes, it should be fine as long as you keep to ‘at home’ volume levels.
  • RussGRussG Frets: 15
    Cheers Jez

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72321
    Yes, completely fine as long as you aren't pushing it hard. Use a clean sound - you'll almost certainly want that for bass anyway - and as long as you hear no distortion from the power stage or speakers it will be fine. If you do want to use an overdriven bass sound, just make sure the final volume is *quieter* than the volume you can still get a clean sound at.

Since it appears that the cabs are closed-back - there look like there are some small round ports in the lower corners - I'd probably go even further and say that it's unlikely you'll blow the speakers even if you do crank it, but that wouldn't be the best advice :).

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

the backs are open, well sort of...half covered i think
    I hate being a newbie LOL