GAS buying with your eyes = buying art not an instrument

What's Hot
With reference to this thread, http://www.thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/comment/2174142/#Comment_2174142 and totally without prejudice, it struck me that so often the buying of a guitar is taken on looks, spec or snake oil from a picture and description on the inter web, that the purchase would fall into the buying a piece of art as opposed to buying an instrument bracket.

I for one would buy a Didonato tommorow, finances permitting, because I think they look fantastic and therefor expect them to play like butter and sound amazing. I have no experience of wether they are as good as a Marlin or Custom shop strat. 
www.maltingsaudio.co.uk
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• gringopiggringopig Frets: 2648
    edited July 2020
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Winny_PoohWinny_Pooh Frets: 7769
    edited March 2019
    Just look at wives and cars, we buy with our eyes most of the time. Men are foolish
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 8reaction image Wisdom
  • stonevibestonevibe Frets: 7143
    If it looks shit you wouldn't want to strum it.

Same with guitars.

Win a Cort G250 SE Guitar in our Guitar Bomb Free UK Giveaway 

12reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 4reaction image Wisdom
  • MayneheadMaynehead Frets: 1782
    Well, it’s gonna be strapped infront of your body so you’re gonna buy something you like the look of right?

I mean if you’re shopping for clothes you don’t just grab anything off the shelves as long as it’s sewn together properly, just like you’re not going to buy any guitar as long as it plays well.

For me it’s got to both look good and play well (then I usually look at the price and utter an expletive).
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • dindudedindude Frets: 8537