Never 'learnt' properly now I think its time to.

What's Hot
d8md8m Frets: 2434
Back when I started playing as a teenager I never bothered learning proper technique for ANYTHING.

This covers theory, scales and even things such as correct picking technique etc etc.

My guitar learning consisted of playing tabs of songs I like that I had found on the web.

As a result I can play about 5 songs well and bits and pieces of others(if i found a song with a hard/fast bit I couldn't play i would skip it!)

I would like to forget everything(within reason) I know and start again properly and build my playing back up using correct techniques etc.

Does anyone know of any good resource/resources where I can start.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• paulhpaulh Frets: 0
    I was in exactly the same boat as you, the only advice I can give you is get some lessons. I'd taught myself so many bad habits it was like learning to play from scratch again but its definitely worth it in the long run.
  • RedRabbitRedRabbit Frets: 486
    Best answer has got to be to get some lessons.  A good teacher will be able to see what bad habits you've picked up and help correct them with out ignoring the positives in your playing.

Second choice - check Justin Sandercoe's website.  Lots of free lessons covering a lot of ground.  http://www.justinguitar.com/
  • TTonyTTony Frets: 27482
    d8m said:
    Back when I started playing as a teenager I never bothered learning proper technique for ANYTHING.

Ditto.

30 years later, I went along for a couple of lessons and wish I'd done it 30 years earlier (when my brain would have had more chance of learning and remembering it properly!).

Lick Library do a range of very well priced tuition DVDs - take a look at their website.
    Having trouble posting images here?  This might help.