Bit of a re-think

What's Hot
digitalscreamdigitalscream Frets: 26581
Been looking at my rig from the perspective of my new band, and I'm considering a bit of a rethink...

At the moment, I get all my distortion and drive from my amp(s) - Jet City JCA50H and JCA22H, with phaser, boost and wah in front and delay in the loop. The heavy rhythm sound comes from the "normal" channel, and I roll off the volume for clean. Lead is obviously the drive channel.

My problems are:
  • Clean is often a) not quite clean enough, and b) not loud enough
  • I'm not very good at tap-dancing, so changes involving a switch from clean + phaser + delay -> heavy rhythm are my worst nightmare
  • There isn't a single multi-fx unit out there which does everything I want and sounds good (I've tried all the major ones)
  • I don't like modelling
  • I really want to use dual delays, but the loops in my Jet City amps are line level which restricts my choice of second delay pedal.
  • If my amp dies, I've got a lot of fucking around to do to get the right sound from somebody else's or go direct to the PA.
What I do have is an AMT C2 preamp pedal (the Cornford MK50-alike). It does sound very awesome, even on its clean channel. This got me thinking...what if I just get everything from my board using preamp pedals, and go straight into the loop return of my amp?

My idea is this:
  • AMT C-2 for heavy rhythm
  • AMT V-1 for clean (Vox AC30-alike)
  • AMT S-1 for lead (Soldano-alike)
  • Some kind of loop switcher
If I went with a programmable loop switch like the Joyo PXL8, this would mean everything is just about a single tap away, but it would be relatively expensive (£175 for the extra preamp pedals and £125 for the switcher, plus a shedload of extra cables; probably £350 all in) and would also require me to build a new board (and I don't like big boards).