Left Handed STRATOCASTER (!) build questions

What's Hot

Comments

• themeinsidethemeinside Frets: 218
    edited December 2014
    QUICK QUERY: It asks for 0000 grade steel wool. Will 00000 be TOO fine for the application? I've never used wire wool before, so I wouldn't know! It's just 00000 is easily available from B&Q/Homebase etc. but I haven't found 0000. 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • MegiiMegii Frets: 1670
    QUICK QUERY: It asks for 0000 grade steel wool. Will 00000 be TOO fine for the application? I've never used wire wool before, so I wouldn't know! It's just 00000 is easily available from B&Q/Homebase etc. but I haven't found 0000. 

IIRC, this is the stuff I bought 

not necessarily that seller, can't rememember where I got it exactly. But it has been good stuff, useful also for polishing up frets after a fret level and re-profile. After I'd got it, I read from other people on forums that Liberon brand specifically is very good, so I made a lucky choice.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • WezVWezV Frets: 16671
    edited December 2014
    here is a pic from my oil finish thread

from left to right we have colron 0000, Colron 00000 and Liberon 0000

you can see the liberon is much better than the colron stuff from B&Q.   it pretty much disintigrates in use and doesn't leave as nice a finish. thats why i recommend the liberon, but the colron ill do at a push
  • @Megii and @WezV Thank you so much for your advice! I've ordered the Liberon 0000 and some high grit sandpaper, and should be ready to get finishing within the next couple of days. Just need to drill all the holes first, I presume?

Also, ordered some waterslide decal paper, to design a custom headstock logo! 
    Just need to drill all the holes first, I presume?

Also, ordered some waterslide decal paper, to design a custom headstock logo!