Jazzmaster pickups vs p90 pickups

What's Hot
Hello all, 

I have a classic player jazzmaster which from my understanding has stock pickups. 

I alwas thought they were p90's until recently, turns out jazzmaster pickups arent p-90s! 

Whats the difference?!?!?!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• @therose789

This article might help you out mate

http://mmguitarbar.com/2013/07/23/demystifying-the-fender-jazzmaster-and-jaguar-pt-4-pickup-lines/
    the previous three parts make good reading too
    And you know what else? Those safety lids on bottles of sanatogen. There I am trying to get the lid off and along comes my six year old and says "there you are daddy" and it's off in a Jiffy. Someone's gonna get hurt.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • Wulfhere;527431" said:
    @therose789

This article might help you out mate

http://mmguitarbar.com/2013/07/23/demystifying-the-fender-jazzmaster-and-jaguar-pt-4-pickup-lines/

the previous three parts make good reading too
    Thanks mate! Very informative
  • And now after reading that article i do have p-90s! 
  • impmannimpmann Frets: 12665
    Well, almost.

I like CP pickups but they don't sound like a Jazzmaster.
    Never Ever Bloody Anything Ever.

• AjotenAjoten Frets: 7
    edited September 2021
    I had the same question but found this thread... to avoid duplicating the thread I shall resurrect because that link just gives me a 404 error in 2021. Can anyone give a summary of the article?

My specifiic question is given the Jazzmaster was originally designed for jazzers, are the pickups different enough to be more  or less "suitable" than P90s? And if I bought one that actually had P90s under the cover, would it not be playing the game?

EDIT: Ignore me! This works (httpS not http)
    https://mmguitarbar.wordpress.com/2013/07/23/demystifying-the-fender-jazzmaster-and-jaguar-pt-4-pickup-lines/