Learning the Fretboard with a Modal perspective

What's Hot
GuyBodenGuyBoden Frets: 745
edited April 2015 in Technique
Over the next year, I'll be posting lessons about learning the fretboard from a Modal perspective.................

I've been studying guitar since I was 14 years old. Rock, Pop, Jazz, Classical, and that's over 35 years of knowledge that I'd like to share...............

The first lesson is the modes of the C Major scale in the open position.

Play the following modes/scales in each of the diagrams and try to learn each note by sound and position.

Send me a PM if you have any questions.

"Music makes the rules, music is not made from the rules."
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ElectroDanElectroDan Frets: 554

Very good of you to spend your time sharing your knowledge. Even for an old dog that can't learn new tricks.

:)
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • GuyBodenGuyBoden Frets: 745
    The second lesson is the E Phrygian Mode 3 in the same open position as lesson one.

The diagram below shows E Phrygian Mode 3 in the open position organised into smaller parts on the fretboard. This makes it easier to memorise.

The diagram also shows three modern type chords that sound good with E Phrygian Mode 3, It's a good idea to create a backing track using these chords, using a loop pedal makes it very easy.

Try playing each E Phrygian Mode 3 over your backing track, playing the notes that are in the chord as each chord is played is good discipline.

Notice how the note "F" the 2nd note of E Phrygian Mode 3 creates a lot of tension. It's important to remember that the 2nd note of Phrygian Mode is the mode's character note, which distinguishes it's sound.

Hear the tension that Chord 3 creates because it contains the 2nd note of the scale, note "F".

Get to know the notes of each chord and it's scale interval.

E Phrygian Mode 3: E F G A B C D