What do I need for playing acoustic guitar live?

What's Hot
BidleyBidley Frets: 2928

Ok, so barring a guitar and a PA, what are the essentials? My acoustic doesn't have a preamp, but I do have a Shadow soundhole pickup - will I need some sort of preamp? Do I need anything else, like an EQ or compressor?

Could I, in theory, just rock up and plug my guitar into a PA? I'm new to this, as you can gather. I just fancy doing an open mic night or two with a mate, nothing epic.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ddloopingddlooping Frets: 325
    You just need a DI box. :)
    You could also use an acoustic multi-effect like the Zoom A2.1u, as seen in my signature. ;)

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • BidleyBidley Frets: 2928
    Thanks dude, turns out I have just the thing :)
  • If its just an open mic thing i would say just rock up with your guitar and lead and go for it they should have everything else you need
    www.maltingsaudio.co.uk
  • nickpnickp Frets: 183
    edited October 2013
    I did that trying to play angie - using a DI box.  The setup at the open mike night was not great so I couldn't hear myself properly and got into a right mucking fuddle and bombed out.

so if you are going to DI I personally would make sure that the monitor is giving you a good sound 

I have promised myself an acoustic amp at some point so that I can be sure of getting my guitar coming right at my earhole!

NIck
  • p90foolp90fool Frets: 31589
    ddlooping said:
    You just need a DI box. :)
    You could also use an acoustic multi-effect like the Zoom A2.1u, as seen in my signature. ;)