NAD - Fender Dual Showman - worth pairing with 15 inch speaker? Mixed custom cab?

What's Hot
I'm starting to get really into learning bebop and country styles recently, so thought I'd grab @robwright 's Dual Showman.

Given that players from those styles sometimes lean towards the Fender amps with a 15 inch speaker I thought I might get a custom cab with a 15 inch speaker in it.

Then I got to thinking, well if the cab is going to be wide enough to hold the head, then I might as well get a 2x something.

Would it be silly to mix the 15 alongside a 10 or 12 inch speaker? I am going to have the cab wired as stereo, so I could just use one or the other if there are no viable mixes....a cab that I could use for recording would also be of use to me

I have little experience with 15 inch speakers so was thinking of trying the WGS G15A as a starting point, but also open to other ideas.

Any thoughts? Cheers!
Link to my trading feedback: http://thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/58787/
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• MattFGBIMattFGBI Frets: 1602
    You won't know until you try it but in theory it could give a very full tone.  I guess the difficulty is finding speakers that cover different parts of the spectrum but then also sound good on on their own if you want to run individually. 
    This is not an official response. 

contactemea@fender.com 

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72321
    Not at all silly. You usually get the best of both worlds.

I would be careful about a 10 if you want the option of running it individually though - although you can get 10s which will handle the power of a Showman, they will almost all be bass or PA drivers and probably won't sound that good for guitar. Also bear in mind that you will have an impedance mismatch if you run just one of the speaker, although the Showman will handle 8 ohms safely, just with a bit of a loss of power.

A 15" and a 12" together can work very well too.