Resonators

What's Hot
I'm thinking of getting a resonator acoustic, just for recording.  Done a bit of research and I'd guess I want a dobro style single cone (round neck) as they seem to be the most extreme.  Doesn't need to be the best thing ever.  What can anyone recommend?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72500
    I have an Ozark that's pretty nice.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

• I've heard good things about this company, though I have no personal experience of dealing with them:

http://www.buskerguitars.co.uk/
  • My resonator came from Busker Guitars. Fantastic service and very knowledgeable.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • LewyLewy Frets: 4238
    ajax;63351" said:
    Done a bit of research and I'd guess I want a dobro style single cone (round neck) as they seem to be the most extreme.
    What do you mean by extreme? The Dobro - or to be specific the "spider" bridge sound is actually quite polite, a bit nasal but in a pleasing way, the country/bluegrass reso sound.

If you're looking for a more aggressive sound you're better off looking at a single cone with a biscuit bridge as opposed to a spider.

Buskers are good, as are the Michael Messer range, and I've quite liked the Gretsch resos I've played too.
  • ajaxajax Frets: 76
    Lewy -  thanks for the info.  I suppose what I mean is an instrument that sounds the furthest away from a non-resonator, the most obviously characterful.
    edited December 2015
    ajax;894778" said:
    Lewy -  thanks for the info.  I suppose what I mean is an instrument that sounds the furthest away from a non-resonator, the most obviously characterful.