Augmented chords - when to use them

What's Hot
ToneControlToneControl Frets: 11894
edited December 2015 in Theory
this week I remembered that the Beatles use these a bit

I wondered about how much I should know about them, and when to use them

but I thought I'd come here and ask guitarists, for more ideas on when to use them, @Viz and @Octatonic probably know all about this
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• vizviz Frets: 10691
    edited December 2015
    I'm no expert but the 3 typical aug6th chords in prep for a dominant are the german 6th, italian 6th and fench 6th. The french 6th is just a fuller Italian 6th. The even nicer one is the diminished 6th chord - the napolitan 6th - that's basically a 1st inversian phrygian chord before the dominant. Lovely. Then there are all the aug 5th chords that arise from the melodic minor scale with its almost-wholetone aspects. They can be used all over the dominant chord itself in jazzzzz. I'll post some examples when i have more time.

Edit - just seen you're referring to aug 5 chords only. Yep. If not just suspensions (ie minor 6ths), then jazzzz. So on G dominant, you can play a g aug triad, or of course any of the other triads with those notes (B aug triad or D# aug triad, as the aug triad splits the octave into 3 equal parts) :)
    Roland said: Scales are primarily a tool for categorising knowledge, not a rule for what can or cannot be played.
    Supportact said: [my style is] probably more an accumulation of limitations and bad habits than a 'style'.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • ToneControlToneControl Frets: 11894
    how DO you play guitar with gloves on?

I was meaning things like

are they good for the first chord of a song, or is that cheesy?
    as part of a key change?
    switch to bridge?
    as a variation in a 12bar or turnaround for the V chord instead of a 7th, etc ?

• octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33794