Left Hander Playing Right

I've been playing for some 45 years. I picked up a 12 string owned by a folk guitarist, Ian Campbell, when I went to my best friend's house for munchies after school. Long story short, when he saw me eyeing his acoustic axe he grumbled in a broad Scottish dialect "So you want to play guitar". "Um, yes," I mumbled, totally intimidated. He was right-handed, I was left.

And I've never changed, playing right-handed left. It does offer great bass and open chord possibilities but there are challenges when I need to see the dot fret markers on the side of the board.

So, the question: any advice how to apply some non-permanent fret markers?

I don't wish to devalue my guitars by a permanent fix (with a professional luthier's costs, or otherwise) but I'd like to see the buggers when I'm fast shifting. It's not so bad with the prominent mid-fret inlay on my HD28 and such but I frequently ride a Faith and the only indication is the logo on the 12th fret.

Tips and suggestions most welcome.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• The simplest thing would be to get some blank white address labels and cut them into small triangles and stick them on the side of neck.
    They are easy to remove and will not leave a permanent mark - I used this method on my old classical guitar with no problems.
  • Cheers Licks, simple, effective solution. Off to the post office later ...
  • However ...

Shot in the dark.

I thought about this and wondered if anybody knows where I can buy 2mm decals, like on Airfix model planes and the like. They are water transfers that will sit tight once in place and are simple to remove. I've spent a few hours googling for a company that will offer these but no joy. Any help appreciated.
  • John_PJohn_P Frets: 2750
    edited February 2016
    I've seen a few places doing decals that would go over the dots on the fretboard on eBay.   stars     blocks  etc

• SassafrasSassafras Frets: 30290