Les Paul - how to play sitting

What's Hot
paul_c2paul_c2 Frets: 410
Hello

This might seem a bit of a daft question, but here goes....I've been playing bass guitar for around 30 years (ages, since I was 15) and got on very well with it. I've played it in concert/gig/performance situations both standing up and sitting (orchestras, etc) so I'm obviously comfortable holding it and playing it. I've just done a check and my posture standing or sitting is basically the same, as it relates to hand positions, angle of neck, etc etc. (Its a Fender Jazz Bass).

Now, today I bought a Les Paul (copy), I originally learnt how to play the (6 string) electric guitar before I switched to bass and for a little while I've wanted to return to playing it. I went to a couple of music shops and tried a number of guitars, including an SG (copy) and a Telecaster but I really wanted a Les Paul. And based on the sound, I bought one. When I was in the shop I didn't have any issues getting comfortable and playing it, albeit badly because I haven't played one for about 30 yrs!!! But now I'm home, for the life of me I can't sit down and get into a comfy posture with it. Standing up, its fine. But if I sit down, its curve at the bottom is in the wrong place. If I put it on my right thigh (nearest the bridge) its too far to the right; and if I put it on the other, too far left and it slides off too.  Or I can kinda prop it on my thigh with the outlet socket directly on my leg (with a right angle cord) and tilt it in the air, to about 60deg or so. Imagine like a Spanish guitar technique/player might do it.

Any solutions to this issue, or am I resigned to playing it stood up all the time? Or should I just buy a Telecaster LOL (lovely guitars, but not the same, or desired sound for me, unfortunately).

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• richardhomerrichardhomer Frets: 24803
    I'd like to offer a positive suggestion - but I agree with everything you say.