DMX lighting options

What's Hot
FarleyUKFarleyUK Frets: 2400
edited September 2016 in Live
I've purchased 4 new PAR lights, with the intention of daisy-chaining them so they can run in a master / slave mode. However, even though they state it's possible, I'll be buggered if I can work out how to set the lights to the master or slave modes (these are them, as recommended in another thread - http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Eyourlife-4PCS-18X3W-Led-Par-Can-Disco-lights-RGB-PAR64-DMX512-DJ-Stage-Lighting-/191855958071?hash=item2cab819837:g:d98AAOSwB4NW1Tqm)

So, I'm thinking of maybe going down the DMX controller route. I've never done this before, and it would need to be set in a way that it has minimal interaction during a gig - I'm assuming a few of you guys use this kind of setup, so I'd be keen on your input and advice.

I'm thinking if I did go this route, the easiest is to set it with an audio in from the kick drum and then change the colour on the lights. Anyone else do this?

Thanks all!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• RolandRoland Frets: 8713
    I presume that you either haven't got a manual, or its in pigeon Engrish. It should be possible to configure slave mode, which would certainly be cheaper and easier than launching into DMX.

What displays do you get when you press the Menu button repeatedly? Typically these Chinese made lights cycle through:
    1. A001, which is a DMX address
    2. AP01, which is an inbuilt chase sequence
    3. Soun, which is sound to light from an internal microphone
    4. Ob-3, which is slave mode. (The Obey-3 was an earlier DMX controller)
    If you can get three of the lights to Ob-3 mode then they will be slaves to the fourth.