Laminated back and sides

What's Hot
FuengiFuengi Frets: 2850
I've just picked up a Sigma DR28 which is listed as solid Spruce top with Rosewood back and sides.I can see by the grain that the b&s are not solid, but interested in how this is done if anyone knows? 
Is it several different strips of timber / ply (like an engineered wood) or do they ever use a photo for the external finish (like laminate flooring)? 
I'm an architect, and I know from product research that engineered flooring is far more stable and less probe to movement than solid timber, I assume that is why, along with cost, it is such a good construction method for the back and sides?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72442
    It will be real wood, usually three layers. The only ones I know of that aren't are Martin's 'HPL' models which are essentially a high-quality version of Formica (and actually sound very good).

On decent quality laminates the outer veneer will be bookmatched. Even at that, it reduces cost and makes for a simpler, stronger construction. How much it affects the sound compared to solid wood is debatable, but it does to some extent.

For some purposes it's arguably better - eg a stage electro-acoustic where you want to play at higher volume without feedback, since it's less resonant than solid wood.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

• FuengiFuengi Frets: 2850
    It's bookmatched on the Sigma DR28. I'm super impressed with the whole build quality, especially considering the list price, and started wondering what the cost of components could be, hence the question if it was real. I guess they would be stretching it by saying it was Rosewood then using a photo!