Interesting video on recording Slash's guitar tone (mic'ing tips)

What's Hot
Not sure if this has been posted but I came across this yesterday and found the bit about mic'ing up the cab very interesting. I have a load of IRs that include those microphones and I may try an implement that technique into my recordings; I have always struggled to 'virtually' mic up an amp because I have no real world experience in mic'ing up an amp for recording. I usually plump for an SM57 and move it off centre to take away the harshness and i don't take much time on this stage because I don't understand it (and i compensate with EQ after  :# )

Hope you find it as interesting as I did!

Check out my band Coral Snake if you like original hard rock!

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• RolandRoland Frets: 8704
    Sitting in the control room swapping mics was fascinating. The bit that really captured my interest was around 13:00 where he talked about tuning the G string slightly flat. That's always been a grouse of mine.
    Tree recycler, and guitarist with  https://www.undercoversband.com/.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Modulus_AmpsModulus_Amps Frets: 2579
    tFB Trader
    all of those sound samples with the neck pickup? the bridge pickup must be very bright or the selector on that Les Paul is wired backwards

Good video, thanks for sharing
  • all of those sound samples with the neck pickup? the bridge pickup must be very bright or the selector on that Les Paul is wired backwards

Good video, thanks for sharing
    I suspect he had it wired backwards, some people do

Roland said:
    Sitting in the control room swapping mics was fascinating. The bit that really captured my interest was around 13:00 where he talked about tuning the G string slightly flat. That's always been a grouse of mine.