Need Help Choosing an Amp.

What's Hot
Hello everyone, 

I've never really bought a proper amp before, even though I've constantly heard from other guitarists as to how crucial a good amp is to tone. So I'm taking the plunge and buying one.

Only issue is that I honestly have no idea what to look for as I have no general knowledge of good amps. 

My current guitar is a Yamaha Pacifica 612VII and to my untrained ears, I guess it sounds a lot like an American Standard Strat (Especially with Seymour Duncans). 

The tone I really want from the amp is one which works very well with cleaner effects such as Chorus, Reverb Etc. 

I also know that the tone of the amp is completely down to self preference. So what I ask is that you guys recommend me the best ones from the above information and then I can do some further research and pick which one I like best. Oh, my budget is around £600 maximum.

Many Thanks!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• 57Deluxe57Deluxe Frets: 7339
    edited February 2017
    youtube trawl for about  a month full time and then you will have some idea on favoured sounds/combination! Then Google for reviews of these too... Don't buy just by fashion trends.
    <Vintage BOSS Upgrades>
    That sounds like a Roland Jazz Chorus to me. If you don't use an amp at present what do you use? And what sounds on that so you like? An idea of what you are playing through it might also help I guess
    Please note my communication is not very good, so please be patient with me
    soundcloud.com/thecolourbox-1
    youtube.com/@TheColourboxMusic
  • darthed1981darthed1981 Frets: 11754
    The other important question is do you want to gig with it, or is it just for home use..?

My biggest issue with amps as a home player is how to play quietly, and you can get decent home practise amps for £100, and you can get some valvy goodness starting at around £200 with amps like Blackstar's HT1R