Amplifier Suggestion??

What's Hot
kswilson89kswilson89 Frets: 222
Hi

I'll start off by saying that I'm no expert on amplifiers or guitars but I bought a 2016 Gibson 1963 ES-335 a few months ago and love the b*****d. So now I'm looking for an amplifier to go with it. Does anyone have any suggestions for an amp that'll suit a 335 nicely? I like playing rock/blues for the most part. I'd preferably like to stick with the classic brands such as Marshall, Fender and Vox but I'm open to all suggestions.

thanks!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• sweepysweepy Frets: 4189
    What sort of Budget are you looking at and do you want it for Gigs or home use, is weight an issue etc 
  • kswilson89kswilson89 Frets: 222
    Budget I could go up to around £2000 and it would be used for small gigs. Weight is an issue, good point, nothing too heavy like an AC30 or Fender Twin. Thanks
  • EvilmagsEvilmags Frets: 5158
    Home, small gigs:- 15 Watt valve amp that switches down to 5 Watts. Probably without a master volume. 
    Jamming, Bigger gigs:- 30-50 watt valve amp with a 2X12 (Fender Blues Junior, Blackstar Artisan 15 both very good)

Sound wise, you have to decide what you like. Their are probably 4 classic sounds (with much variance between them) and they would be Fender, Vox, Marshall and Mesa Boogie. Modern Multi channel amps generally have switchable voicings, so you will typically see (tweed ie fender style) brit ( Marshall ) ect on those channels. These are obviously more expensive. Mesa level gain (with the exception of the Loanstar series) will be well above what you are looking for. 

Classic ES 335 into Fender tone would be Chuck Berry, Classic ES 335 into Vox, Noel Gallacher, ES 335 into Marshall Cream era Clapton. There are obviously massive variations between models of amp, speaker choice ect.