Spotting a fake Gibson Les Paul

What's Hot
Hi guys, just after some advice on buying second hand les Pauls as I'm new to it and have read some scary stuff online about fakes being hard to spot.. 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• If it sounds implausible, it almost certainly is? 

The phrases "Selling this for a mate" , "I don't really know / can't be sure what this is" or "I've lost the CoA" etc are all good alarm bell ringers.

Physical appearances there are lots of different little ways that I've seen. But checking the pots and cavities seems to open a few eyes. Scarf joints on necks, logo too small etc 

My Trading Feedback    |    You Bring The Band

Just because you're paranoid, don't mean they're not after you
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • crunchmancrunchman Frets: 11517
    The poorer fakes have 3 screws on the truss rod covers (it should be two), but these days most fakes probably have that right.  If you do see one with 3 screws then it's definitely wrong.
  • StrangefanStrangefan Frets: 5844
    edited October 2017
    Price is a factor you don't really find many fakes trying to get top dollar especially with good photos, they will likely be a "bargain' and have crap Pics, also the truss rod cover on fakes usually have the wrongs wording and the serial and made in usa on the back of the headstock are not stamped like originals but are etched quite deep. 
  • underdogunderdog Frets: 8334
    edited October 2017
    I'm not saying they don't exist but I'm yet to see a fake with the correct posts in the bridge, they should not have a slot in them. Also nibs over the frets (for most years)
  • SparkySparky Frets: 90
    Use this forums classifieds. You won't get any hokey stuff here.
  • stickyfiddlestickyfiddle Frets: 27692
    I wrote a big guide on this once. But the photos are all on photobucket so I can't re-up them here.

Key things to watch for: