LibreCad.. Jesus wept..

What's Hot
FosterFoster Frets: 1100
At work we're thinking of putting a new unit down, just want to make sure it all fits and have a play around before we commit to dropping a massive unit somewhere.

Had the site professionally surveyed, cad drawings given, hurrah, etc. Now to have a play with them and see where new unit can go.

I've never used any CAD software before. Boy am I glad about that! So far i've spent an hour struggling to draw a triangle.

I know the size of the unit but in librecad I have to draw the rectangle with the mouse and then you can't change the size of it, unless you no longer want it to be a rectangle and are happy using the precision of a mouse again... Why the bloody hell can't you just type in a box the size you want??

It also seems that half the tools work by selecting the tool, selecting what you want the tool to work on and then naff all happening besides. 

I must've missed something, why would you force users to get the exact size on first attempt with a mouse in the exact location? I can't even rotate the bloody thing!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• SporkySporky Frets: 29146
    That sounds rubbish.

I wonder if it's related to Alibre, the worst CAD package I've ever used. In that you had to draw the primitive shape (eg a generic rectangle), then apply a dimension to the shape, then adjust the dimension.
    "[Sporky] brings a certain vibe and dignity to the forum."
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Libre<anything> strikes me as being total pants. Same with OpenOffice. At least the old versions of the Mickeysoft tools used to work.
    "Working" software has only unobserved bugs. (Parroty Error: Pieces of Nine! Pieces of Nine!)
    Seriously: If you value it, take/fetch it yourself
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • FosterFoster Frets: 1100