Boss ES-5

What's Hot
builttospillbuilttospill Frets: 460
edited February 2018 in FX
I'm a complete newbie to switching systems I'm not even sure if it's worth adding one to my current set up and I can see how they would be utilised for live use.
 I've researched a couple of the Boss offerings but I still don't really understand how they work.
For example I've got quite a few settings I like on my old Boss OD-1 and DM-2w are you saying that these switching systems like the ES-5 can save your favourite settings as individual patches in the internal memory? and that you can recall those saved parameter settings any time? How does that work on analog based pedals? I thought these switchers only worked best with midi based pedals? As I say I'm completely new to this any help would be greatly appreciated.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• english_bobenglish_bob Frets: 5164
    edited February 2018
    That's not how it works unfortunately. At the very basic level, the ES-5 has five send/return loops that can be engaged or bypassed. Each preset you save is just a combination of on/off statuses for each loop- eg. 1:ON 2:OFF 3:ON 4:OFF 5:ON

This is useful if you use different combinations of effects all the time and need to switch between them quickly.

Since the ES-5 can also send MIDI messages (patch changes and control changes- altering parameters within a patch), you can see how the options open up dramatically if you have a few MIDI-enabled pedals, but it's not required.

There's a ton of other stuff the ES-5 can do, but that's the core of it. If all you want is the loop switching there are much cheaper ways to achieve that. As far as I know, the only way to get multiple settings on basic analogue pedals is either to change them on the fly, or to have duplicates of the same pedal on your board.

Don't talk politics and don't throw stones. Your royal highnesses.