Tips for soldering tips..

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• hywelghywelg Frets: 4303
    Not much point in lead free in my work, soldering lead!
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Modulus_AmpsModulus_Amps Frets: 2580
    tFB Trader
    ecc83 said:
    The rifle range where I was a safety officer has been shot over since the Great War. You cannot lift Sod One without finding a bullet or/and casing and yet! The grass grows, the flowers bloom, the trees still reach for the sky and the bloody rabbits thrive!

Dave.

Rabbits Thriving??  I think your members need to improve their aim then

I don't think there are any exemptions based on employee numbers for this directive, for those interested you can read RoHS Directive here.
    http://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/PDF/?uri=CELEX:32011L0065&from=EN

• MistyMisty Frets: 135
    Mickeyji said:
    Misty said:
    Interesting thread, can I ask for some advice? I have a couple of very old soldering irons, a 25 watt and a 40 watt, with old tips which don't help me do a neat job. I'd like to buy one or two new irons to replace them, What do you guys use and would recommend for general use on my guitars, (soldering pots for example), and the odd straightforward job on my amps? Also what shape tips are best....pointed, chisel, etc.? Thanks.
    I recently bought one of these:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/ERSA-0710CD-Ersa-Soldering-Ptc70/dp/B00505FOF6/ref=sr_1_47?ie=UTF8&qid=1519154215&sr=8-47&keywords=ersa+soldering+iron

It's far better quality than the cheap, crappy Chinese irons and soldering stations I had before. The pros I know all recommend either Weller or Ersa.
    Thanks for that, I'll check it out.

• HaychHaych Frets: 5630
    My soldering iron is the cheapest thing I could find, I forget how many watts it is but it must be fairly high as it slowly melts the tip during long periods of use, so I quite often sand or file it back to it's original pit shovel shape.