Anyone ever gone back to tap dancing?

What's Hot
colourofsoundcolourofsound Frets: 402
I've been running a rig with a loop switcher for the past 6 months or so, first an ES-5 and now a Musicom EFX LE.

Had a jam with a new band last week and the way programmable switchers work just seems to go against a more dynamic workflow when jamming and writing. Couple this with multi-fx that only shine when you know your set and you recall presets by Midi - suddenly your amazing do-it-all rig seems quite restrictive.

So I pulled my switcher off the board, reunited the orphaned pedals back to my board and had a wonderful time. Apparently the Cali76 and Neunaber Slate buffers are excellent; because I couldn't really tell if my tone was effected by running pedals in series again.

Anyone else had a similar experience? Anyone running a more hybrid setup, like a Morningside MC6 + underboard loop switcher like their ML5 or Voodoo Labs NEX?

(I'll be keeping an eye out for smart arse remarks about ballet or dancing ;))
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• TeetonetalTeetonetal Frets: 7826
    I like individual pedals for jamming and writing in a band. Switcher for live. You, clearly need a 2nd board!
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72921
    Yes, a long time ago. I will never go back to programmed patches, even though I've now returned to using a multi-FX - it just doesn't work with the way I want to use sounds live. The multi-FX is used in manual mode with a footswitch for each effect.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • stickyfiddlestickyfiddle Frets: 27550