first nut job and set up

What's Hot
ok guys.  my mex strat conversion is coming along so it should become a guitar for all sounds type of axe.

I'm going to replace the nut with a graphite job and then set up the neck.  using a wilkinson trem at the bottom end set floating and locking tuners.

is the nut replacement and setup relatively easy for the complete beginner.  I'm after a guitar that stays in tune when I do some whammy bar abuse albeit not to floyd rose levels.  Do you have a link to a sensible step by step instruction set as I don't want to make a hack job of the nut for instance.

or should i just take it to the guitar tech and ask him to fit the nut and set it up?

ta

nick
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• GagarynGagaryn Frets: 1553

Do you have nut files? If you don't, and don't want to buy a set (they aren't cheap) I'd get the nut cut by someone with the tools and experience.

• alanchanxdalanchanxd Frets: 64
    you should buy nut files depending on if you want to do future nut jobs. Because of their expensive price, nut files are like an investment, you must use them enough times to make your investment worthwhile.

The process is challenging the first time you do it. You have to consider
    - fretboard / nut radius (therefore you might need a fretboard radius gauge)
    - the string gauge you are using (this may determine which file sizes to buy)

Alternatively, a simpler method is to buy a pre-slotted graphtech graphite nut. I don't think they should cost more than 15 pounds and it is pre-slotted already so that you don't have to buy fret files. 

• thermionicthermionic Frets: 9803
    Cutting a nut properly requires knowledge, experience and the right tools. The knowledge is easy (read Dan Erlewine's books) but experience takes a lot of time and the tools are expensive. Unless you're planning to do a lot of them, I say pay your local friendly tech to do it.
  • WezVWezV Frets: 17008