Best sounding 'thing' to record bass?

Subjective indeed, but what is a good tool to use to get bass sounding great on recordings? I have no preamp of any kind as I sold my Kemper. But I say thing because maybe I'll be better off with a HX Stomp rather than a preamp plugin of some kind. Or maybe I just need a darkglass pedal. What is everyone using?

Bear in mind, I'm a guitarist trying to record bass. So the simpler the better.
Read my guitar/gear blog at medium.com/redchairriffs

View my feedback at www.thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/comment/1201922
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Rich210Rich210 Frets: 577
    Two-note le bass? All the interface and great tone, and a pretty decent speaker emulation. I replaced the chinese pre valve for a tung-sol equivalent which was a good shout. 
  • Good shout, that.

• Behringer BDI. Or Behringer GDI at a push.
  • Rich210Rich210 Frets: 577
    Good shout, that.
    Have a look at a compressor pedal too. Although you can compress in post production. I picked up a mark bass compressore for £100 which superb.

A parametric EQ might be useful. The Le Bass can get some very naughty distortion, and lovely phat tones. No aux in though. 
  • I've used my HX Stomp straight into the desk for my band's two singles - sounds great IMO! (Possibly slightly biased...)
  • FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14510
    D.I. through a good limiter. You can always re-amp later. IMO, deliberate analogue tape saturation helps.

You say, atom bomb. I say, tin of corned beef.
  • Danny1969Danny1969 Frets: 10441
    I've always just DI'ed the bass then put a Sansamp plugin on it. Sometimes we reamped it back out the control room into an Ampeg SVT and mic'ed that but it was only a bit better than the Sansamp

Just bear in mind if you over compress it in the way in you can't undo it so I've always gone for a cleanish signal for most music .... distorted bass aside 
    www.2020studios.co.uk