What makes strats (occasionally seem) that bit more difficult?

What's Hot
noisepolluternoisepolluter Frets: 892
I seem to go through phases with mine - sometimes it's the easiest guitar to play and dial in a good sound, and sometimes there's no option but to stick it back in the case for a few days. 

Whereas the tele doesn't seem to do that - never a problem to play or dial in. Same with the semi actually. 

I seem to go between preferring strat <---> everything else except strat!

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• RichardjRichardj Frets: 1538
    I occasionally suffer the same. Maybe it's the extra tone options from three pickups and five way switching. I've got mid boost and TBX tone control as well to add to the confusion! However, when you can dial it in very little sounds better. IMHO.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • SamgbSamgb Frets: 774
    I'm no Strat expert - I'm two weeks into my first one. I've only ever had humbucker fitted guitars SG, LP, a 335 type hollow body. But there does seem to be something about the tonal palette of the strat that's quite unforgiving (I don't know if that's quite the right word). I am enjoying it - I'm enjoying the different feel but I know where you're coming from here. I was noodling away last night using one of those little Vox Amplugs with my headphones on thinking 'this sounds fantastic' but two days ago I was off work in the house in my own and really cranked it and it sounded like shit to me. Maybe the more Stratty Guys can shed more light on this. They are very unforgiving of inexact playing especially when you run them clean. I don't know why that's different to a Tele but it just is.
    That was a long rambling answer! Apologies.
  • JalapenoJalapeno Frets: 6462
    Single coils be different, and at volume the 5 switch positions have a big effect.  The 25.5" scale may also be playing with your head ! ;)