Idigbo or Korina

What's Hot
GSPBASSESGSPBASSES Frets: 2357
edited November 2020 in Making & Modding tFB Trader

I've been following the postings by @TTony and @PeterC, both are going to try out Idigbo for a build. So rather than add my experience into their postings I thought I do a small post on what I found the difference between Idigbo and Korina.

I've been using Idigbo for over 20 years mainly the building Flying V’s, I have also used it for LP’s and LPJ’s. Whenever I'm asked to make a 58 Korina V I always try to persuade the customer to have it made in Idigbo. There are several reasons for this, firstly 20 odd years ago it was almost impossible to buy Korina in the UK, what was available was generally very heavy. I would estimate a V body made from Korina would be at least 1.5 to 2lb heavier then one made with Idigbo. I should say this is not always the case as you can get Korina that not so heavy now and Idigbo that's heavy, I think it's fair to say that Idigbo is always lighter.

The main differences between the two wood is kind of quantifiable, particularly if you don't believe in tone woods. I think guitars made from Idigbo sound more musical then Korina particularly when played unamplified, but also when amplified.

So @TTony and @PeterC I would have no hesitation whatsoever to recommend Idigbo instead of Korina. Although for authenticity Korina is the wood to use for certain guitars, unfortunately authenticity can stand in the way of using different materials and different building techniques. 

A few photos of some Idigbo builds.

2 Korina builds, the telecaster is made from black Korina that was very heavy, the only way to use it was to make a fully chambered F hole Tele, the Strat was also chambered.

Your life will improve when you realise it’s better to be alone than chase people who do not really care about you. Saying YES to happiness means learning to say NO to things and people that stress you out.

https://www.facebook.com/grahame.pollard.39/