Mixing - fancy speakers vs ear buds

What's Hot
Many consumers of Fb and YouTube videos will be using crappy ear bud type headphones. 

I've had varied results mixing audio on decent studio monitors vs ear buds and ultimately realised what I'm aiming for is a decent sound on ear buds.  Thus I often don't use my studio monitors much now.  Obvs I'm an amateur not a pro and my target audience is the general fb and YouTube listeners. 

Wondering what the pros do these days.  Does mixing on super studio monitors end up with a good mix on average ear buds?

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• thegummythegummy Frets: 4389
    All earbuds don't sound the same so if you mixed specifically for one pair, it would only be people listening using the same ones that would theoretically hear it as you hear it.

The reason mixes are done on speakers that are made specifically for mixing on is that they're made to be as flat response as possible. So when the mix sounds right on flat monitors it "averages out" the sound to translate to a variety of platforms.

So if someone is listening to cheap earbuds that are very trebbly with not much bass - the mix that sounded right on flat monitors will sound similar to other pro mixes do on those cheap earbuds, it'll be what the listener is used to. Whereas if you mixed on those you might heavily boost the bass so it sounds better on those earbuds but then anyone listening to a normal hifi that has a good bass response, it will sound over the top bass heavy.

Even if you only cared about ear buds and were willing to completely sacrifice any other playback device, the same would apply because of the variance of the different earbuds.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • WhistlerWhistler Frets: 324
    edited April 2020
    Wondering what the pros do these days.