Teach me: Delay pedals

What's Hot
I've been playing on and off for over 50 years and have recently sussed that whenever there's a discussion about pedal boards, everyone seems to have a delay of some sort.  Apart from some obvious stuff like Gilmour/May etc. what are the rest of you doing? FWIW, I'm in a covers band doing Beatles/Eagles/Sheryl Crow along with some Indie stuff.  

I have a Boss delay so maybe some one could take a take a pic of their 'standard' setting and post it on here.  I've had 2 Boss pedals die in the last 6 months so would be  good to use it before it goes belly up.  You'd think a company the size of theirs would offer some sort of repair service.  
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• monquixotemonquixote Frets: 17872
    edited April 2020 tFB Trader
    You might find that you will get more replies in the FX section rather than technique. 

You must have been fairly unlucky as Boss is generally known for being a reliable brand.

Which Boss delay is it? (they make quite a few). 

In any case posting knob settings may not be that much use as the controls tend to vary wildly between different delay pedals. 

It may be that you just aren't a delay guy if you haven't found a use for it. 

There are a few ways of using a delay:

You can have the repeats set low, the level fairly high and the delay set very short (under 50ms) for that classic rockabilly slapback which is great for anything rootsy rock and roll and also adds a bit of a thickening effect which is great if you are in a one guitar band. 

You can also set it as a general always on ambience. Lots of higher gain players tend to do this rather than reverb. If you want to do this then have about 2-3 repeats, keep the level fairly low and have the time about 200-300 ms. In this way of doing things you might have the level a bit higher and kick it on just for solos.