Dealer mark-ups on trade-ins?

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• Tex MexicoTex Mexico Frets: 1198
    @Tex Mexico Although if they've taken your £2k guitar for £750 and sold you a full-price £4k brand-new one, they've presumably made the same profit if they sell yours for £750 plus any overheads as they would have done if you hadn't traded it in. If they sell it for more than that, then they've made a bit more.
    That's true, but the key here is it takes longer to get thst £750 (or more) if you take that value in stock. That's not good for cashflow, which is the beating heart of any business, retail or otherwise. As a business you want to get your stock out of the door at the expected margin, not to take a chunk of that margin in material you then have to resell.

I'm a purchasing manager, this is a calculation I have to make every day.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • FunkyGibbonFunkyGibbon Frets: 14
    You’re right that consignment ant trade in are two very different trading models. On reflection:

I guess my point is that ‘you pays your money and takes your choice’. If one opts for a trade in and accept the offered value one forfeits the right to object to whatever mark up the shop is able to make because one accepted their offer with ones eyes wide open.

It’s different if one have good reason to believe one has been defrauded e.g. one was offered £3.50 for your mint 1934 Martin D18 because it was ‘a 1960’s ‘law suit’ knock off.’

in order of value received, like used cars it’s:
    private sale - highest yield
    concession sale - predictable yield 
    trade in - lowest yield

If one accepts trade in the shop is entitled to make the best out of the deal. Presumably, in taking the trade in one is considering that to be the best deal. 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • shufflebeatshufflebeat Frets: 105
    Andy79 said: