the Capo ...

What's Hot
DavidReesDavidRees Frets: 337
the capo - an absolutely marvellous device and I have used one pretty much since I started playing - wonderful allowing adjustment to playing root position chords whilst playing in different keys BUT what I don't get is those who use one on the first fret, surely a semitone difference in key is marginal for vocal performance and what's more the instrumentalists who use one? I guess we all notice a different 'percussive' quality to our playing when using one but I thought I would seek out the wisdom of the Fretboard - is it that we all really want zero fret guitars?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• lincolnbluelincolnblue Frets: 294
    I would use the capo on 1st fret if I was playing something in Ab - so playing G shapes
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • crunchmancrunchman Frets: 11504
    I don't have the best vocal range, and I do find that even a semitone can make a difference on songs where I am at the fringes of my range.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72941
    Having worked with quite a lot of singers (mostly female, if it matters!), a semitone difference is not always marginal - it can be the difference between being able to sing a line comfortably and really struggling - often with the low notes rather than the high ones - so capo'ing up a semitone is useful.

It also means you can get a looser feel and a deeper tone if you tune the guitar down to Eb and then capo back to standard pitch.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 5reaction image Wisdom