Blower switch on push/pull tone pot question

What's Hot
erueru Frets: 53
Hi,

I've just added the "blower switch" mod to an LP Junior-style guitar with one P90 pickup, a volume knob and a tone knob. I've wired the mod onto a push-pull tone pot so that when it's in the up position the controls function as normal; in the down position the volume and tone pots are bypassed.

The mod seems to work as planned, but an issue I've found is that there's a "blip" noise when using the push/pull knob. After experimenting a bit, I've found that if I push/pull the knob very slowly (oo-er) there's actually a point between the two different positions where the sound cuts out completely. This wasn't obvious when switching at normal speed.

As I've never used a push/pull pot before (or a mod like this), I'm wondering if the cause of this is: a dodgy pot, incorrect wiring, some other issue, or if this might even be normal for this mod?

Thanks for any advice.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• CasperCasterCasperCaster Frets: 763
    I'd guess it depends on the spec of the switch on your push-pull pot. My guess is that it is a 'break before make' switch, hence the brief silence between positions. I don't tend to use push-pull or push-push switches much, so I'm not certain if this is usual for this type of pot or if some brands of pot have a 'make before break' switch action. Someone else on the forum my be able to advise. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 73061
    It's normal. It's a break-before-make switch, as CasperCaster said.

I don't know of any push-pull switch - or normal mini-toggle, if you had thought of changing it for one of those - which is make-before-break. 

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski