Modes: most of the important ones

What's Hot
13»

Comments

• BasherBasher Frets: 1212
    But then I think of notes as colours....
    Chromesthesia?
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Well kind of, but not involuntary!

• BasherBasher Frets: 1212
    Well kind of, but not involuntary!

I remember reading about this somewhere. Someone had chromesthesia and, I think, perfect pitch. They could say which colour corresponded with each note but when asked about chords they could only see them as brown, which kind of makes sense. Possibly another theory for the origin of EVH's "brown sound"!

It sounds like you use it as a self-taught tool for improvising, which sounds more useful that the full blown thing to me. 
  • vizviz Frets: 10758
    edited September 2013
    I really enjoy thinking in modal colours like I said before - Dorian songs now have a greenish hue to me; Ionian songs have a strident red coulour; Phrygian songs are infused with a hint of eastern yellow, etc. It's a helpful little extra dimension that adds something to my enjoyment of music. But then I think vowels have colours too: a red; e yellow; i white; o black; u grey; y silver.
    Roland said: Scales are primarily a tool for categorising knowledge, not a rule for what can or cannot be played.
    Supportact said: [my style is] probably more an accumulation of limitations and bad habits than a 'style'.
  • JalapenoJalapeno Frets: 6405
    edited September 2013
    viz said:
    I really enjoy thinking in modal colours like I said before - Dorian songs now have a greenish hue to me; Ionian songs have a strident red coulour; Phrygian songs are infused with a hint of eastern yellow, etc. It's a helpful little extra dimension that adds something to my enjoyment of music. But then I think vowels have colours too: a red; e yellow; i white; o black; u grey; y silver.
    Oh man, Dorian is a kind of blue - Miles told us .......