Headphone amp or multi-fx?

What's Hot
A friend has bought a bass and is looking for cheap-ish options to play it through headphones (he's a total beginner... and he lives in a flat - so an amp isn't an option at the moment).

I guess he could get a Vox Bass 2 amplug as a basic option.

But I'm guessing a cheap FX unit may give him more options... ie he'd gain access to FX... and some units may have an aux in socket (so he could feed music in from his phone/iPod etc and play his bass alongside his favourite songs). Obviously, the FX unit would have to be capable of driving headphones (and it would be good if it had amp emulations)

Any ideas or recommendations?

Thanks.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• sawyersawyer Frets: 732
    I used to have a Korg multi fx that had headphone and aux in, so such things are available. Korg Pandora Box has Bass voices plus aux in,but current model batteries only as far as I can tell from mine. Headphone amps in my experience not much use,although things may have changed since I last tried them (long time ago!)
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • hollywoodroxhollywoodrox Frets: 4308
    I had a zoom bass multi fx , just the job for headphones and it had aux in for backing ,and usb capability and it was quite inexpensive 
  • Balrog68Balrog68 Frets: 100
    I have a Blackstar Fly 2 Bass headphone amp. It has 3 sound settings,Inc fuzz,Tone and volume controls, built in drum beats and mp3 line in. I sometimes use this with my pedal but using the pedal on its own doesn't give you much volume, so if your using the line in on your pedal you would have to have the incoming volume really low in order to hear yourself play. 
    That's just my personal preference tho. 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • Thanks for all the info. guys.