Would you rather buy a custom shop 1974 custom or a 1974 les Paul custom ?!!

What's Hot
riffpowersriffpowers Frets: 344
I’ve been GASing for a 1974 les Paul custom for some time now. a custom cos it’s my favourite guitar , and a 74 cos it’s my birth year . 

Ive never played one , but as we all know the internet is full of stories about the patchy nature of that era of Gibson guitars. 
I notice the custom shop made a 74 custom guitar a few years ago .

I wondered what the pros and cons were between buying an original 74 or it’s more modern equivalent?!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• BrizeBrize Frets: 5640
    Difficult one, not least because they'll probably cost around the same. The newer version will likely be a bit lighter, but will lose value if you buy it new.

Old black guitars can sometimes look pretty gnarly, which may be a pro or a con, depending on your disposition.

I think you'll have to take each guitar on its merit.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom
  • artiebearartiebear Frets: 810
    edited July 2020
    Without wanting to offend anyone who has the Custom shop 74, I think it is one of the worst attempts I have seen from the custom shop in trying ton recreate something. They used an awful faux yellowed binding and headstock to try to recreate the natural ageing. If I was looking at a custom shop LPC with the maple cap, it would have to be the '68 reissue, which doesn't quite fit your brief.