Buying Custom Shop Les Pauls Online and Unplayed

What's Hot
vincechu89vincechu89 Frets: 92
edited July 2020 in Guitar
Hi all,

Thinking of getting a Custom Shop Les Paul online and unplayed due to Covid and local stores not having anything I fancy. Would anyone else feel comfortable doing this?

How is Gibson QC nowadays and are CS les pauls generally more consistent? Genuine question, not trolling! For example I'd buy a Suhr unplayed as quality is high and consistent.

Edit: also any years more consistent than others or are these just rumours online? also, I’m relatively new to Les Pauls so may have more questions. Thanks in advance!  ( I’m a strat man at heart branching out!)

Thanks,

Vince
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• teradaterada Frets: 5115
    Just make sure the returns process is super easy
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • WhitecatWhitecat Frets: 5539
    Use a reputable dealer like Peach - you could probably ask them to play them for you and handpick a great one. 
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • LPManicLPManic Frets: 1119
    edited July 2020
    Don't take any shortcuts - do your research and take your time. Make sure you get exactly the top that you want. Pay the money. Use a retailer that has a good returns policy. Nothing better than a Custom Les Paul. QC debate is just keyboard warrior crap. 
    4reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • tony99tony99 Frets: 7231
    I'm keen to purchase with Ishibashi myself LP customwise but can you imagine the returns if it's no good???
    Bollocks you don't know Bono !!
  • RandallFlaggRandallFlagg Frets: 14024