Vocal Plugins

What's Hot
What's good? I'm brand new to this recording lark.

Is there like a NeuralDSP equivalent where 1 plugin has EQ / Compression / De-essing etc etc all on 1 pop up rather than having to layer loads of different ones with loads of different menus?

I'm using Reaper if that makes any difference.

ta
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• I haven’t used it but Izotope Nectar is probably worth a look

https://www.izotope.com/en/products/nectar.html
  • There are loads. The one I've found most useful is Izotope Neutron (though it's also pretty expensive). Waves do many, in the form of channel strips, and my favourite of those is the Scheps OmniChannel, but the simulations of things like SSLs or the Abbey Road consoles are fun, too - they have fewer and less malleable controls, but they seem to be made to distort musically. Neutron seems to be more "clinical", but that's useful too. 

And that's just two companies - here's the channel strip page on plugin boutique

Basically it's rabbit hole and it goes deep. 
  • Danny1969Danny1969 Frets: 10405
    This is actually a very good plugin for getting a quick vocal sound 

For 9 out of 10 male vocals though sticking an EQ with a high pass around 120Hz, 5dB cut between 250 to 400Hz and a slight boost around 6 to 8K  ... add a compression with a 4:1 ratio, medium attack, adjust threshold till your see'ing around 7dB of gain reduction on the loudest bit
    Set up  2 aux buses send  one to a reverb, one to a delay   .... adjust to taste but a good starting point is echo time set to BMP with 2 repeats and set the reverb so it's got a lot of length but only 25% wet 

Personally when it comes to verbs I prefer one master one and everything sends to that. It's less processor intensive and adds a bit of glue ... plus it's what we did when studios only had one or 2 good reverbs 

www.2020studios.co.uk 
  • octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33797