Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Singing and playing

What's Hot
Hi all, I am new to the forum,
I have been learning now for 6 months and can strum basic patterns and play most open chords, albeit still with looking at the chord change hand.

The one thing i cannot do is sing and play, as soon as i start to sing then my strum hand just stops or i end up singing robotic and line my words up with every strum.

How long does this take and what the best thing to do to practice.
After all it surely is the end game to guitar playing.

I am getting lessons and my tutor is great, however he says he has never been able to do it and he is a professional musician of 30  years.... scary is so!

Thnaks

Mark
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 15275
    The strumming and chord changes need to become sufficiently automatic that you no longer have to devote the majority of your attention to them. 

Then, your brain can concentrate on hanging the vocal melody and lyrics over the accompaniment. 

I can holler over strummed guitar, some riffs and double guitar and vocal melody. For whatever reasons, I have never been able to vocalise whilst playing bass guitar. 
    You say, atom bomb. I say, tin of corned beef.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • The strumming and chord changes need to become sufficiently automatic that you no longer have to devote the majority of your attention to them. 

Then, your brain can concentrate on hanging the vocal melody and lyrics over the accompaniment.