Installing active pickups into a passive guitar with zero experience? Madness or great fun?

What's Hot
Crazyblue1779Crazyblue1779 Frets: 188
edited October 2020 in Guitar
I have an LTD EC-256 which is rapidly turning into a bit of a practice / project guitar ( so I can try stuff without messing up my main instrument). 

I’m using it because it’s cheap enough that I’m not overly concerned if I really f**k something up, but it’s also not a bad wee guitar for the price. 

I’ve zero experience but I want to learn and so far I’ve found that I enjoy the tinkering side of things. 

So I’m going to teach myself to replace passive pickups by practicing on it, but then I thought once I have that down, it might be fun to throw some actives in there too. 

I know this requires replacing pretty much everything (I think).  So is it something that an enthusiastic but clueless person should attempt?

Or am I asking for a world of headaches and frustration?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• abw1989abw1989 Frets: 658
    If anything, it might be easier. A lot of the active systems are solder-less with quick connectors for the most part; with soldered connections being at the jack and the switch.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom
  • thecolourboxthecolourbox Frets: 10389
    I don't know how to fit normal pickups but I've had two lots of EMGs now in different guitars (Tele set in a Tele and Het Set in a crap kit built SG) and generally they are pretty easy to install as they are solderless.

The SG was slightly complicated by not including a solderless switch so I had to ask somebody to do that for me. The Tele set was slightly complicated by (if i recall correctly) the cavity not being big enough for the oversized solderless wiring and the jack plate being too small. But neither of these were as hard to me as trying to solder in proper pickups
    I'm scared and I'm waiting for life