Could someone recommend a good Compressor please?

AlnicoAlnico Frets: 4616
edited July 2014 in FX

I have looked at a few, namely EHX Black Finger / White Finger and Boss CS3.

Is the EHX Black Finger worth the expense and is it really so much better with valves in the pedal or is it just hype and the Boss CS3 (At half the price) will do just fine?

I'm not very experienced with pedals so i'm grateful for any advice.

If not one of these, could someone recommend another Compressor ?

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• JohnPerryJohnPerry Frets: 1641
    The best of the best: origin fx cali 76 or slide rig. Also wonderful is the diamond comp. The xotic sp is small, relatively cheap and pretty good. Of course it depends whether you want to really squash the signal or just add some light compression to it. The xotic squashes way more than the diamond, for instance

• RaymondLinRaymondLin Frets: 12319
    edited July 2014
    TGP favourites are 

Wampler Ego 
    Barber compact Tone Press 
    Diamond
    Empress Effects
    Mad Professor Forest Green 
    Xotic SP

And the daddy of them all, Origin Effects Cali 76
  • joeyowenjoeyowen Frets: 4026
    Diamond is a good shout!

Do you want it to help dynamics?  Or start a country and western covers band?
  • smudge_ladsmudge_lad Frets: 761
    Over the last couple if years I've had a modded CS3, a Diamond, an Ego and I currently have the Xotic.

I wanted light compression, which is why I moved away from the CS3 to the Diamond. I used the Diamond for ages, it's a great comp, but when I got a second guitar I felt like I needed more control, so changed to the Ego. For me, this is the best compressor I have used out if all 4. Can do everything from light compression to squishy squish and with tons of tweak ability to get it just right!